Father Mathew Hall
In 2014 we were delighted to become the owners of Father Mathew Hall which is a unique building and is steeped in Irish history. It dates back to the 1890’s when it was originally built as a temperance hall by the Capuchin Friars and was dedicated to the memory of Father Mathew.
Father Mathew Hall was used as a field hospital during the 1916 Rising and in 2016 it featured in RTE’s documentary the ‘Children of the Revolution’ in which it describes how Joseph Francis Foster was shot dead at only 2 years 10 months outside the building.
The building was a focal point for the whole community and was used for social, cultural and pastoral activities. For example the ‘Feis Maitiu’ promoted the Irish culture and music.
The building was completely restored in the early 2000’s and is currently being used as offices.